St Peters’ Church Council

Every Methodist Church is governed by a Church Council

Under the chairmanship of the minister the Church Council comprises the church stewards; the church treasurer; the secretary of the council; the secretary of the Pastoral Committee; not less than six representatives nor more than fifteen elected annually by the General Church Meeting; up to fifteen additional persons appointed by the council to ensure that all areas of the church’s life are adequately represented; and one circuit steward appointed by the circuit stewards.

The Church Council meets at least twice each year, in the autumn and the spring.